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Marketing Management

Description: Marketing Environment PromotionMarketing StrategiesProduct ManagementPricingMarketing Fundamentals
Number of Questions: 15
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Tags: Marketing Environment Promotion Marketing Strategies Product Management Pricing Marketing Fundamentals
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The number of times people in the target audience are exposed to a media vehicle during a given period of time is known as

  1. reach

  2. frequency

  3. message weight

  4. bursting

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: B
Explanation:

Yes, it is the right answer.

Advertising that is directed towards distributors, retailers as well as wholesalers is known as ____________.

  1. consumer advertising

  2. industrial advertising

  3. professional advertising

  4. product advertising

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: E
Explanation:

Right answer is trade advertising.

If 3000 people in the target audience tune in an FM radio 98.3 programme 6 times during a four week period and 3000 people tune in 3 times, calculate the average frequency.

  1. 9

  2. 4.5

  3. 6

  4. 3

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: B
Explanation:

Total exposures = (3000*6) + (3000*3) = 27000 Total audience reach = 3000 + 3000 = 6000 Average frequency = 27000 / 6000 = 4.5

Suppose we take a full page advertisement at a price of Rs. 60,000 in a magazine to reach 3 lakh people. What will be our CPM?

  1. Rs. 5

  2. Rs. 2000

  3. Rs. 200

  4. Rs. 20

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: C
Explanation:

Cost per thousand (CPM) = cost of media unit / gross. impressions * 1000 = 60,000/300,000 * 1000 = Rs. 200

The campaigns which emphasise superiority to retain the present market and to expand it either by increasing the products consumption or by weaning the customers away from other brand is known as

  1. national campaign

  2. pioneering campaign

  3. direct - action campaign

  4. local market campaign

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: E
Explanation:

Competitive campaign is the right answer.

The large firms such as I.B.M, General motors and Coca cola consider which of the following patterns of target market selection?

  1. Single segment concentration

  2. Selective specialisation

  3. Product specialisation

  4. Market specialisation

  5. Full market coverage


Correct Option: E
Explanation:

Yes, it is the right answer as the firms attempts to serve all customer groups with all the products they might need.

'Market segmentation is the sub-division of a market into homogeneous sub-sects of customers whereby any sub-sect may conceivably be selected as a market target to be reached within a distinct marketing mix'. Who gave this statement?

  1. Lazo and Carbon

  2. Peter F. Drucker

  3. Mc Carthy

  4. Philip Kotler

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: D
Explanation:

Yes, it is the right answer.

Which of the following is considered as the last stage in the new product development process?

  1. Test marketing

  2. Product development

  3. Commercialisation

  4. Business analysis

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: C
Explanation:

This is the last stage that involves the launching of the product on full scale. So, it is the right answer.

'Hindustan Unilever Ltd. produces soaps, shampoos, creams, moisturisers and many other cosmetic products'. The above statement illustrates which of the following dimensions of product mix?

  1. Length

  2. Depth

  3. Width

  4. Consistency

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: C
Explanation:

Width of the product mix refers to the number of different product lines offered by the company. So, it is the right answer.

Which of the following is/are considered as the method(s) for screening of ideas under new product development process?

  1. Check list method

  2. Idea rating method

  3. Substitution method

  4. Both (1) and (2)

  5. Both (1) and (3)


Correct Option: D
Explanation:

Yes, it is the right answer.

______________ is a policy, which aims at extracting maximum profits from the market and as such the manufacturer keeps high prices.

  1. Skimming pricing policy

  2. Uniform delivery pricing policy

  3. Zonal delivery pricing policy

  4. Production point pricing policy

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: A
Explanation:

Yes, it is the right answer.

Parity pricing is included among which of the following methods of pricing?

  1. Cost based pricing

  2. Demand based pricing

  3. Competition oriented pricing

  4. Value pricing

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: C
Explanation:

Parity pricing means matching competitors pricing. Yes. It is the right answer.

The policy by which marketer attracts customers by showing low priced goods and after that selling them high priced goods is known as

  1. bait pricing policy

  2. flexible pricing policy

  3. price lining policy

  4. one price policy

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: A
Explanation:

Yes, it is the right answer.

Who developed the 4 P's of marketing?

  1. Jerome McCarthy

  2. Philip Kotler

  3. Peter F. Drucker

  4. Bernard H. Booms and Mary J Bitner

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: A
Explanation:

Yes, it is the right answer.

An advertiser puts an advertisement on a programme of TV channel which was viewed 6 times by 5000 people in the target audience and 8 times by 5000 people in a four week period. Also during the same period, the ad is put on another programme which was viewed 4 times by 3000 people in the target audience. Calculate gross impressions for the advertisement.

  1. 82,000

  2. 70,000

  3. 30,000

  4. 52,000

  5. None of the above


Correct Option: A
Explanation:

(5000*6) + (5000*8) + (3000*4) = 30,000 + 40,000 + 12,000 = 82,000  So, it is the right answer.

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